I love the 4th

July 4th is my favorite holiday.  I love the community celebrations.  We go to Thompson Park every year to hear the orchestra and visit with friends.  I love the fireworks even when the mosquitoes are biting.  Most of all, I love breakfast at our house on the 4th.  We don’t eat anything special.  It’s chance for me to read a few things to my kids and talk about the United States.


We read a portion of the Declaration of Independence and talk about the courage it took to start a nation.


We read the Gettysburg Address and talk about the courage it takes to continue a nation.


And, we read a speech by Frederick Douglass and talk about the courage it takes for a nation to face up to its shortcomings in order to move closer toward its potential.


I write this on July 3rd.  I can’t wait until tomorrow morning.


Enjoy the holiday!

One Response to “I love the 4th”

  1. Brad Jolly Says:

    John, I also like the Fourth, and the music at Thompson Park yesterday was very enjoyable. However, I cannot say the Fourth comes even close to my two favorite holidays – Easter and Christmas. The Fourth made it possible for me to live in the greatest nation on the planet for however many years I live. The other two made it possible for me (and everybody else) to spend eternity in Heaven, surely an infinitely bigger and better deal.

Leave a Reply

