More Sandra Day O’Connor

In our cynical world, many of us assume that people seek public office for personal gain.  One of Justice O’Connor’s answers to a question was a refreshing reminder that this is not necessarily – or often – the case.

The question was posed by a high school government teacher.  He asked (paraphrased), When I ask my students to discuss Supreme Court cases they have a hard time separating their personal views from the law.  How would you advise me to help them do this?

Without hesitation, Justice O’Connor responded (also paraphrased), Have them raise their right hands and say these words:  I do solemnly swear that I will administer justice without respect to persons, and do equal right to the poor and to the rich, and that I will faithfully and impartially uphold the Constitution and laws of the United States. So help me God.

She went on to explain that when you commit yourself to this oath it is easy to separate your own views from the judgments you must make.  “It’s not about you,” she concluded emphatically.  “It’s about the Constitution and laws of the United States.”

“Next…”

One Response to “More Sandra Day O’Connor”

  1. Brian Herman Says:

    I’m speechless… wow! (yes, I know, not a very insightful response… but really… WOW!)

Leave a Reply

