Five Quick Thank Yous

Last night I took a seat on the St. Vrain Valley School Board.  I imagined that each of the board members would be asked to say a few words but, probably appropriately, that was not the case.  If I would have had the chance, here’s what I would have said.

I would like to say five quick thank yous.

First, I want to say thanks and hello to my family watching at home on television.  I have the opportunity to serve on the board.  But, as we all know, it takes an entire family to serve.  I want to thank Joni, Emma, Joe and Grace for their support.  Now, it’s time for books and bed.

Second, I would like to thank the classroom teachers who are here.  I appreciate their support and encouragement.  I would like to make particular mention of the Central Elementary teachers who are here – Sally Beckner and Jeanne Dennison.  Sally has been my daughter Emma’s teacher… twice.  My daughter Emma and Sally are emblematic of why I am here. Why we all are here. Because at the end of the day that’s what this is all about, children and teachers in the classrooms.

Third, I would like to thank John Caldwell for not seeking re-election.  John is one of my role models for public service.  I appreciate his friendship and the wisdom he shares with me.

Fourth, I would like to thank the many, many people who offered me support throughout the campaign or took the time to meet with me.  They are too numerous to name.  I will be relying on these folks a lot over the next four years.

Finally, I would like to thank the voters of the St. Vrain Valley.  I know you didn’t have much of a choice on your ballots.  Over the next four years, I will do my best to earn the votes you’ve already given me.

Leave a Reply

