Away from the Computer

I will be away from the computer for a few days.  When I return, I will post more question responses including what I submitted to SVVEA.

I also hope to share themes from the "campaign trail."  In the past few weeks, I have had the opportunity to talk with parents and community members from central, southwest and southeast Longmont, Mead and Niwot.  I have met with community and business leaders from Dacono, Erie, Frederick, Longmont and Mead.  I have had the chance to tour schools, talk with principals and/or teachers from Longmont, Silver Creek and Niwot high schools; Heritage, Coal Ridge, Sunset and Altona middle schools; and Columbine, Northridge, Eagle Crest and Central elementary schools; Twin Peaks Charter Academy; the 18-21 Transition Program for students with disabilities and I attended a math night at St. John’s Catholic Church earlier this summer.  I have visited one-on-one with several sitting school board members, administrators, district department staff and education advocates in the community. I have read the SVVEA agreement and I am plowing my way through the district budget and CDE information. 

As we know, St. Vrain is a large district – 400 square miles; more than 40 schools.  I still have many more places to visit and people from whom I need to learn.  I have much more on my calendar for October.

I want to thank everyone who has made time for me to help me learn as a prepare to represent our community members on the school board.  I look forward to sharing what I’ve learned so far and engaging in an ongoing conversation about how to support St. Vrain public schools.

See you in a few days.

Leave a Reply

