Running without Opposition

I learned this afternoon that I will not be opposed for the school board vacancy.  That certainly makes the campaign easier.  As I have joked to people, I will feel bad if I lose.  But all joking aside, I am sorry for the school district and for the community.  I also understand that no one filed for the seat currently held by Robert Auman.  That means that six people – the six board members – will choose a person to fill that position – hardly the democratic process for which one hopes.

I believe that one of the potential virtues of a campaign is that it can foster a conversation.  In an ideal world, campaigns would be a time in which the community talks about the directions we would like to see our schools move.  We would talk about what is working well and what we should be doing more, better or differently.  After a conversation of this type over a couple of months, the community has the opportunity to vote and offer support for the candidates who they believe will best represent the community’s aspirations.  I hope that we can still have this type of conversation as a community.  It will take more effort without the incentive of a competitive election.

I still intend to be active between now and November 6.  I already have visited four schools.  I have two more school visits scheduled and four more pending.  I plan to go door-to-door on my own and with groups on October 7 and 14.  I have two community conversations scheduled for September and hope to do more in October and November.  My goal is to broaden and deepen my understanding of the community’s aspirations for public education and public schools so that, as a member of the school board, I can be mindful of what’s important to people.

I am looking forward to the opportunity to serve.

Leave a Reply

